Age of Innocence: America Pre-9/11

Posted: September 7, 2011 in 9/11, Audio in ebooks, Chapter Excerpts, Terrorism, Weapon Systems
Tags: , ,

 This excerpt comes from Chapter 10. I am speaking with a librarian at the Picatinny Arsenal; that’s where American weapons systems are developed and tested. At the end of the tape, terrorism briefly comes up in the conversation. Our attitudes are flippant.

This conversation took place in 1985, sixteen years before 9/11. Who knew?

On Thursday, December 19th, I let my fingers do the walking: I dialed the Picatinny Arsenal in Dover, New Jersey. I gave the librarian the following cover story: I was an automotive engineer doing research on the design of an armored personnel carrier. I had a list of reports published by the Arsenal dealing with projectiles and explosives. They were old, published in the 40s and 50s, but still relevant to my work. Was it possible for me to order them directly from the Arsenal?

The librarian told me the Arsenal had all the reports. Then she added that even though the reports were old, they still might have restrictions on them. “And you know the Army, be prepared to answer a lot of questions.”

The following is an excerpt from that conversation:

Go to this website and click on “10-1” to listen to the phone conversation associated with this post:
http://roofmanpansini.com/

Please remember this content is © 2011

Leave a Reply

